Current-Limiting Reactors

KPM, LLC has manufactured current-limiting reactors for a long time. Thousands of reactor coils have been made, and huge experience in their manufacture and operation has been gained.

Intended Purpose

State-of-the-art electrical networks are characterized by complex layout with great number of generation and consumption assemblies. Production sectors, transport and society as a whole require more and more electric power. Capacities of power stations grow, new power generating units and stations are commissioned.

Reliability requirements to power supply, possibility of significant power flows (transit) cause the necessity in multiple parallel electrical connections within a network. Connectiveness of networks grows, share of radial systems drops, number of division points also drops. Modern electrical networks are mostly meshed system with regard to their layouts.

All of it leads to increase in short-circuit (SC) currents within networks of all voltage classes and to increase in power flows in electrical networks.

Increase in short-circuit currents is a problem of great concern. High SC currents require costly switching gear with high breaking capacity. Large SC currents occurring in case of a fault cause drastic consequences — major damage to the equipment, high risk of fire after SC, risk of cascade fault.

The simplest and the cheapest way of SC currents limiting is to use dry current-limiting reactors. This solution (in the form of concrete reactors) has long ago proven itself in 6 kV and 10 kV networks. Based on the state-of-the-art technologies, KPM, LLC manufactures sophisticated dry reactors designed for all voltage classes, from 6 kV to 330 kV.

Ohmic resistance of a current-limiting reactor is minimal, and inductive reactance may be up to several tens of Ohm. In normal operation mode, losses in the reactor are insignificant. However, in case of a short-circuit equivalent resistance of an electrical system containing the reactor becomes much greater than without it. Which, according to the Ohm’s law, leads to SC current reduction to safe values.

Other use of current-limiting reactors is to equalize the power flows in parallel electric connections of a complex-layout electrical network. The most typical case is availability of connections (power transmission lines) rated as belonging to different voltage classes and connecting two network assemblies with power flow between them. Currents are distributed among parallel connections proportionally to their electrical impedance, not proportionally to their transfer capability.

Not infrequent are the situations when power transmission lines with less electrical impedance becomes overloaded and the one with higher impedance — underloaded. If we connect a reactor into the overloaded power transmission line, the line’s electrical impedance goes up, which allows us to re-distribute the flows in proportion to the transfer capability of the power transmission lines. This, in its turn, increases the total transfer capability of the network and prevents power transmission line overload in various operation modes.

Design

The distinguishing feature of KPM reactors is use of single-wire aluminum conductors with composite insulation consisting of polyimide-fluoroplastic film and two layers of glass fabric impregnated with heat-resistant silicone varnish. This allows not only to ensure the required electric strength, but also to create a one-piece mechanical connection between the conductors in the reactor windings. The windings becomes self-supported — it doesn’t need a framework or other structural elements to ensure its mechanical strength.

Composite insulation of the KPM, LLC reactors is resistant to temperature fluctuations, chemical and radiation exposure. The insulation is hydrophobic (it doesn’t imbibe water and doesn’t let it through) and low-combustible (it is virtually impossible to set the insulation afire when it is exposed to an electric arc).

The most important design features of a KPM, LLC reactor are:

  • The reactor is a solid construction, its base and main load-bearing element are represented by the reactor winding itself. The winding needs no support framework or other elements to ensure extra strength.
  • All metal parts of the reactor are under the same voltage as its winding. Absence of significant potential drops inside the reactor minimizes the probability of its internal damage. E. g., breakdowns between the layers, breakdowns between the cross-piece and winding, etc.
  • Secondary elements of the reactor (rods, bindings) are made of fully nonmagnetic materials that have no electrical conductivity. This fully prevents their interaction with the magnetic field of the reactor. Since such elements are secondary, their strength is many times greater than the loads applied to them in the process of operation.
  • The reactor has absolutely no dismountable mechanical connections (such as screw-and-nut connections, etc.). This ensures highest strength, durability and reliability of the whole structure; prevents the necessity in maintenance of mechanical connections in the process of operations.
  • All electrical connections are made by soldering (welding), which prevents their heating, deterioration of contact joints, minimizes the losses.
  • The reactor does not contain any liquids and highly flammable materials, it cannot be a source of fire and is explosion-proof. The reactor is designed for long-term maintenance-free service.
  • Presence of vertical and horizontal through channels between the windings ensures reliable natural cooling of the reactor.

Токоограничивающие реакторы

ООО «КПМ» производит токограничивающие реакторы уже длительное время. Произведены тысячи фаз реакторов, накоплен большой опыт производства и эксплуатации.

Назначение

Современные электрические сети характеризуются сложной топологией, с большим количеством узлов генерации и потребления. Потребности промышленности, транспорта и общества в целом в электроэнергии растут. Растёт установленная мощность электростанций, вводятся новые энергоблоки и станции.

Требования надёжности электроснабжения, возможность значительных перетоков (транзита) мощности приводят к тому, что существует необходимость в создании множественных параллельных электрических связей в сети. Растёт связность сети, уменьшается доля радиальных сетей, уменьшается количество точек деления сети. Современная электрическая сеть по своей топологии является преимущественно сложнозамкнутой.

Всё это приводит к росту токов короткого замыкания (КЗ) в сетях всех классов напряжения, а также росту перетоков в электрических сетях.

Рост токов короткого замыкания является серьёзной проблемой. Большие токи КЗ требуют дорогостоящего коммутационного оборудования с высокой отключающей способностью. Значительные токи КЗ в случае аварии приводят к тяжёлым последствиям — существенным повреждениям оборудования, высокому риску пожара после КЗ, риску каскадного развития аварии.

Наиболее простым и дешёвым средством ограничения токов КЗ является использование сухих токограничивающих реакторов. Данное решение (в виде бетонных реакторов) давно положительно зарекомендовало себя в сетях 6 кВ и 10 кВ. ООО «КПМ» на основе современных технологий производит современные сухие реакторы на все классы напряжения от 6 кВ до 330 кВ.

Активное сопротивление токоограничивающего реактора минимально, а индуктивное может составлять до нескольких десятков Ом. В нормальном режиме работы сети потери в реакторе невелики. Но при коротком замыкании, эквивалентное сопротивление электрической системы с учётом реактора оказывается существенно больше, чем без него. Что в соответствии с законом Ома приводит к уменьшению тока КЗ до безопасных величин.

Другое применение токоограничивающих реакторов — выравнивание перетоков в электрически параллельных связях электрической сети сложной топологии. Наиболее типичный случай — наличие связей (линий электропередачи - ЛЭП) разного класса напряжения, соединяющих два узла сети с перетоком мощности между ними. Токи распределяются между параллельными связями пропорционально их полному электрическому сопротивлению, а не пропорционально их пропускной способности.

Нередко возникает ситуация, когда ЛЭП с меньшим полным сопротивлением оказывается перегружена, а с большим — недогружена. Включение реактора в перегруженную ЛЭП в такой ситуации увеличивает её полное сопротивление, что позволяет перераспределить потоки пропорционально пропускной способности ЛЭП. Что в свою очередь повышает суммарную пропускную способность сети и предупреждает перегрузку ЛЭП в различных режимах.

Конструкция

Отличительной особенностью реакторов КПМ является использование одножильного алюминиевого провода с комбинированной изоляцией, состоящей из полиимидно-фторопластовой (ПМФ) пленки и двух слоев стеклоткани, пропитанных теплостойким, кремнийорганическим лаком. Это позволяет не только обеспечить требуемую электрическую прочность, но и создать монолитное механическое соединение проводников в обмотке реактора. За счет чего обмотка становится самонесущей — она не нуждается в каркасе или других элементах для обеспечения её механической прочности.

Комбинированная изоляция реакторов ООО «КПМ» устойчива к колебаниям температуры, химическим и радиационному воздействиям. Она гидрофобна (не впитывает и не пропускает воду) и трудногоюрюча (воспламенение изоляции под действием электрической дуги практически исключено).

Важнейшими особенностями конструкции реактора ООО «КПМ» являются:

  • Реактор представляет собой монолитную конструкцию, основу которой и главный несущий элемент представляет собой сама обмотка реактора. Обмотка не нуждается в опорном каркасе или других элементах для дополнительной прочности.
  • Все металлические части реактора находятся под тем же напряжением, что и его обмотка. Отсутствие существенных разностей потенциалов внутри конструкции реактора минимизирует вероятность внутренних повреждений реактора. Таких как пробой между слоями, пробой между крестовиной и обмоткой и др.
  • Вспомогательные элементы реактора (рейки, бандажи) выполнены из полностью немагнитных материалов, не обладающих электрической проводимостью. Что полностью исключает их взаимодействие с магнитным полем реактора. Поскольку элементы являются вспомогательными, их прочность многократно превышает нагрузки на них, возникающие в процессе эксплуатации.
  • В конструкции реактора полностью отсутствуют разборные механические соединения (такие как винт-гайка и др.). Что обеспечивает высочайшую прочность, долговечность и надёжность конструкции в целом; исключает необходимость технического обслуживания механических соединений в процессе эксплуатации.
  • Все электрические соединения выполняются методом пайки (сварки) что исключает их нагрев, старение контактных соединений, минимизирует потери.
  • Реактор не содержит в своей конструкции жидкостей и легковоспламеняющихся материалов, не может быть источником пожара, взрывобезопасен. Конструкция реактора рассчитана на длительный срок службы без обслуживания.
  • Наличие сквозных вертикальных и горизонтальных каналов между обмотками обеспечивает надёжное естественное охлаждение реактора.