Shunt Reactors

Dry shunt reactors are manufactured by KPM, LLC based on the technology that has proven itself in manufacture of current-limiting reactors.

Intended Purpose

Any power transmission lines have capacitance relative to the ground. This is due to fundamental properties of electrical conductors and insulators. Any two conductors divided by an insulator are a capacitor. Charge capacitance of power transmission lines relative to the ground depends on the line length, its arrangement and may other factors. In general, capacitance of cable power lines is higher than that of overhead lines.

The charge capacitance is stray capacitor. When electric energy is transferred via power transmission lines, part of its power is spent for charging and discharging of this stray capacitor — i. e., this is unproductive. For long power transmission lines such losses are unacceptable.

Connection of the reactor (in a three-phase network — three-phase group of reactors) in parallel to the charge capacitance of the line allows to minimize the transmission losses. The reactor is essentially an electrical inductor. Capacitors and inductors are reactive components. In an AC circuit, these components store and release electric energy back to the circuit in cycles. The cycles of the components are opposite in phase. Thus, when a shunt reactor with reactive impedance equal to the charge capacitance is connected, charging and discharging of the power transmission line stray capacitor relative to the ground will be done by the reactor’s magnetic field energy. Energy of the circuit generators will not be wasted in this case, the system losses will be reduced and transfer capability of the power transmission line will rise.

The traditional solution is to use shunt reactors with oil insulation. Disadvantages of this solution are quite obvious — fire hazard of oil insulation, the necessity in regular oil check, the necessity in mineral oil facilities.

Under current conditions, shunt reactors may be of dry versions.

A three-phase group of dry shunt reactors is represented by three Y-connected reactor coils. The three-phase group may be connected directly to the power transmission line by means of a branch line, or via the special-purpose tertiary winding of the transformer.

If necessary, step-wise adjustment of reactive power may be arranged for by means of several reactors used per phase, with mechanical switching between them. In this case, an individual transformer is used for connection to the network.

Design

Design of shunt reactors is similar to that of current-limiting reactors manufactured by KPM, LLC.

The most important design features of a KPM, LLC reactor are:

  • The reactor is a solid construction, its base and main load-bearing element are represented by the reactor winding itself. The winding needs no support framework or other elements to ensure extra strength.
  • All metal parts of the reactor are under the same voltage as its winding. Absence of significant potential drops inside the reactor minimizes the probability of its internal damage. E. g., breakdowns between the layers, breakdowns between the cross-piece and winding, etc.
  • Secondary elements of the reactor (rods, bindings) are made of fully nonmagnetic materials that have no electrical conductivity. This fully prevents their interaction with the magnetic field of the reactor. Since such elements are secondary, their strength is many times greater than the loads applied to them in the process of operation.
  • The reactor windings have absolutely no dismountable mechanical connections (such as screw-and-nut connections, etc.). This ensures highest strength, durability and reliability of the whole structure; prevents the necessity in maintenance of mechanical connections in the process of operations.
  • All electrical connections are made by soldering (welding), which prevents their heating, deterioration of contact joints, minimizes the losses.
  • The reactor does not contain any liquids and highly flammable materials, it cannot be a source of fire and is explosion-proof. The reactor is designed for long-term maintenance-free service.
  • Presence of vertical and horizontal through channels between the windings ensures reliable natural cooling of the reactor.

Шунтирующие реакторы

Сухие шунтирующие реакторы производятся ООО «КПМ» на основе технологии, хорошо себя зарекомендовавшей при производстве токоограничивающих реакторов.

Назначение

Любые линии электропередачи обладают ёмкостью относительно земли. Это обусловлено фундаментальными свойствами электрических проводников и изоляторов. Любые два проводника, разделённые изолятором представляют собой конденсатор (ёмкость). Величина зарядной ёмкости ЛЭП относительно земли зависит от длины линии, её конструкции и множества других факторов. В общем случае ёмкость кабельных линий выше, чем воздушных.

Зарядная ёмкость является паразитной. При передаче электрической энергии через ЛЭП часть мощности расходуется на заряд и разряд этой ёмкости — то есть непроизводительно. Для протяжённых ЛЭП такие потери становятся неприемлемо большими.

Включение реактора (в трехфазной сети — трехфазной группы реакторов) параллельно зарядной ёмкости линии позволяет свести к минимуму потери при передаче. Реактор электрически является индуктивностью. Ёмкости и индуктивности являются реактивными элементами. В сети переменного тока эти элементы циклически запасают электрическую энергию и затем отдают обратно в сеть. Этот цикл в них происходит в противофазе. Таким образом, при включении шунтирующего реактора, реактивное сопротивление которого равно зарядной ёмкости, заряд и разряд ёмкости ЛЭП относительно земли будет происходить за счет энергии магнитного поля реактора. Энергия генераторов сети расходоваться в этом процессе не будет, потери в системе уменьшатся и пропускная способность ЛЭП возрастёт.

Традиционным решением является использование шунтирующих реакторов с масляной изоляцией. Недостатки такого решения очевидны — пожароопасность масляной изоляции, необходимость регулярной диагностики масла, необходимость наличия масло-хозяйства.

В современных условиях шунтирующие реакторы могут быть выполнены сухими.

Трехфазная группа сухих шунтирующих реакторов представляет собой три фазы реактора, соединённых звездой. Трехфазная группа может подключаться непосредственно к ЛЭП через отпайку, либо через специальную вспомогательную обмотку трансформатора.

При необходимости может быть легко реализовано ступенчатое регулирование величины реактивной мощности за счет использования нескольких реакторов на фазу с их механическим переключением. В этом случае для подключения к сети используется отдельный трансформатор.

Конструкция

Конструкция сглаживающих реакторов схожа с конструкцией токоограничивающих реакторов, производимых ООО «КПМ».

Важнейшими особенностями конструкции реактора ООО «КПМ» являются:

  • Реактор представляет собой монолитную конструкцию, основу которой и главный несущий элемент представляет собой сама обмотка реактора. Обмотка не нуждается в опорном каркасе или других элементах для дополнительной прочности.
  • Все металлические части реактора находятся под тем же напряжением, что и его обмотка. Отсутствие существенных разностей потенциалов внутри конструкции реактора минимизирует вероятность внутренних повреждений реактора. Таких как пробой между слоями, пробой между крестовиной и обмоткой и др.
  • Вспомогательные элементы реактора (рейки, бандажи) выполнены из полностью немагнитных материалов, не обладающих электрической проводимостью. Что полностью исключает их взаимодействие с магнитным полем реактора. Поскольку элементы являются вспомогательными, их прочность многократно превышает нагрузки на них, возникающие в процессе эксплуатации.
  • В конструкции обмоток реактора полностью отсутствуют разборные механические соединения (такие как винт-гайка и др.). Что обеспечивает высочайшую прочность, долговечность и надёжность конструкции в целом; исключает необходимость технического обслуживания механических соединений в процессе эксплуатации.
  • Все электрические соединения выполняются методом пайки (сварки) что исключает их нагрев, старение контактных соединений, минимизирует потери.
  • Реактор не содержит в своей конструкции жидкостей и легковоспламеняющихся материалов, не может быть источником пожара, взрывобезопасен. Конструкция реактора рассчитана на длительный срок службы без обслуживания.
  • Наличие сквозных вертикальных и горизонтальных каналов между обмотками обеспечивает надёжное естественное охлаждение реактора.